I Was Charged With Minnesota Trespass Law. What Next?

Trespassing is passing onto someone else’s property, walking on, or living on private property after you have been warned not to enter or remain on someone else’s property after you have been asked to leave.

In most states, trespassing is classified as a misdemeanor. However, there are certain exceptions to trespassing laws, including meter readers, law enforcement, and government surveyors.

What Constitutes Trespassing on Private Property?

Typically, an individual will be charged with trespassing in Minnesota if they are found to:

  • Enter another person’s property to damage the property. In many cases, individuals illegally enter the property and do something to deface or destroy it. A typical example of this crime is graffiti and other forms of vandalism.
  • Enter another person’s property to obstruct normal business functions. This most commonly occurs at businesses, where disruptive individuals may cause problems.
  • Enter another person’s property and occupy the property without the owner’s permission. These individuals may try to take over a property when the owner is absent, as with squatters.
  • Refusal to vacate a private property when asked to do so. When a property owner asks an individual to leave his or her property, that individual’s invitation is considered void, even if he or she was a guest on the property.

Charges and Penalties

The act of trespassing carries its penalty, but individuals charged with this crime may be charged with other crimes, too. This is because, in many cases, people who trespass do so with further intentions in mind, such as assault, larceny, or vandalism.

Depending on the events surrounding the arrest, a person may be charged either with a misdemeanor or a felony. Usually, this will depend on whether the person had further intentions once they trespassed.

A person convicted of a misdemeanor is punishable by up to 90 days of imprisonment or a fine of up to $1,000. For a gross misdemeanor, a person may face up to a year in jail or $3,000 in fines.

The Importance of Hiring a Professional Attorney

A professional law company with talented misdemeanor defense lawyers will help you avoid a trial and negotiate a plea bargain or reduced sentence.

If a plea bargain can’t be reached, your attorney will prepare a strong defense strategy and argue on your behalf during the trial. Your attorney will also provide you with expert advice during each stage of the trial process.

Seasoned criminal lawyers will be able to convince the jury that your act of trespassing was inadvertent. If you are committing the crime for the first time and you have no prior criminal record, the lawyer will be able to get you out with minimal penalties like community service.

Note that, though a minor criminal charge, trespassing can splotch your social standing and jeopardize your job prospects if severe penalties are imposed.

Charged With Criminal Trespassing Charges? Contact Us Now!

Rogosheske, Rogosheske & Atkins, PLLC is dedicated to representing those criminally accused in Minnesota. The trial talent and the strong defensive skills that any offender will need when up against criminal charges in the state can be found at this law firm.

A lawyer from our firm can work with you to build a strong case. One that skillfully challenges the accusations made against you. Whether your case is settled out of the trial or makes it to the courtroom, the defensive legal skills you need will be on your side when you decide to work with a professional from the firm. Contact us today to learn more about how the seasoned criminal defense attorneys at Rogosheske, Rogosheske & Atkins, PLLC, can help when charged with trespassing or call us on  (651) 413-9004 to book a free consultation with one of our lawyers.

Related Posts
  • Understanding the Distinction Between Felonies and Misdemeanors Read More
  • Minnesota Misdemeanor Court Process: From Arrest to Sentencing Read More