Minnesota Drivers License Reinstatement After DUI
Getting your license reinstated after a DUI is a good feeling. You’re at the end of a process that hopefully left you a lot wiser, and more responsible on the road. A DUI or DWI arrest can be one of the most difficult times you have ever experienced, but you can regain control of your life. Getting your license back after a long ordeal is the final step to getting back on the road.
How to Get Your License Back After DUI
A suspended license is when your license, permit, or privilege to drive is taken away for a set period of time, then it is returned. Before it is returned, a suspension termination fee may have to be paid. A DUI or DWI conviction almost always comes with a driver’s license suspension or revocation. What are the most important steps in getting your license back after a DUI?
Penalty Time Frames for Minnesota
There are different lengths of suspension based on different types of DWI. Some typical convictions and suspension times are:
- DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) first offense under .16% BAC – 90-day suspension
- AGG-DWI (Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated) – 1-year suspension
- DWI with a minor 15 or younger in the vehicle – 1-year suspension
- DWI committed within 10 years of a conviction – 1 to a 2-year suspension
Although specific laws vary from state to state, these are just a few examples and some general guidelines for Minnesota DWI penalties.
Minnesota Complete DUI Education
Every state has its own version of a DUI risk reduction driver education program. It is generally mandatory to take part in these classes. The program must be taken through a state-approved school. If you have been ordered by the court to complete an alcohol education program, you usually will have to register through your state’s DMV. DUI school teaches attendees about the effects of alcohol on the body, society, and the long-term consequences of drunk driving. Drivers must submit proof of completing the course.
Minnesota Road Tests
In some cases, you will have to retake your road test and/or written exam in order to get your license reinstated. People with their learner’s permit, CDL (commercial drivers license), Class D, Class M driver’s licenses could be required to retake their driving tests. In some states, all drivers who get their licenses suspended will have to take a driver's test to get it back.
Ignition Interlock Devices in Minnesota
Before you get your license back, you may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device. These are installed in your vehicle to precisely measure the level of alcohol in your breath. The device is connected directly to your car, truck, or SUV’s ignition system, and are fast and easy to use. They are discreetly mounted and compact for easy installation. Your vehicle will be temporarily prevented from starting if your alcohol concentration exceeds the legal limit.
Reinstatement Fees in MN
Finally, there are reinstatement fees that need to be paid before you can get your driver's license back. Fees, like penalties, vary greatly from state to state. These fees are determined by state laws and can range anywhere from $100 to $1,500. Fines may also have to be paid to programs like a Drunk Driving Prevention Fund.
DUI charges are taken very seriously by police officers and the courts. Use these tips to get your license to reinstate after a DUI as soon as possible. If you’ve been convicted of a DUI, contact our offices right away. The initial hours and days are crucial, and the worst thing you can do is wait. Our experienced attorneys will help you get the best possible outcome for your case.